An important part of my past is catching up….

…FINALLY!
A few weeks ago when attending a function at Northport, I was blessed to run into a big part of my past, that has been missing from my life today.

Last night I held a dinner party for 4. Dee Dee and I had the privilege of getting to know one of my kids again, along with his beautiful wife. I say one of my kids, because I have alway felt Mark was part of me and my kids’ life during a very fundamental era of becoming sober and creating who I am today. I got to know this young fellow when he was about 10 years old, and until the age of 18, I was his legal guardian.

I would like to think that I was an important part of his developement, but more importantly, I realized last night that he was more of an importance in my developement. During the time of separation after the age of 18, he has really become into himself, and has also gotten married. I truly had a good time with Mark and Jenny last night! I was very nervous throughout the day, with a lot of expectations. I had to tell myself many times through the day, “Grant me Serenity to accept the things I cannot change, Courage to change the things I can, and Wisdom to know the difference”. Needless to say, everything worked out great.

During those years with Mark, he has given me so much of who I am today. He gave me the courage to go back into my hometown and fight for my biological kids, Cale, Coleman & Cleary. And, because I did that, I have a wonderful relation with them, and a great feeling of gratitude of what I have done for & with them.

Mark gave me the confidence in myself, and settled my inner spirit enough to realize that “I am a good parent”.
It’s easy to look back today, and see all that he (as a child) as given me. It’s easy to look at the big picture after you are removed from it, but in the midst of a lot of chaos during that period of my, I had no idea how much he had given me.
That, again, leads me to thoroughly believe that “everything happens for a reason”. It gives me a lot of hope that maybe I have been an important part of someone else’s journey, and don’t even know it. I can only hope, right? The true blessing after all is that we are all human beings, just trying to get by, a day at a time.

I have been, and am, truly lucky to have the people in my life today, that I call family & friends. AND now I have 2 more people to add!

About JillCards, LLC

Handmade Personalized Unique Greeting Cards, featuring "Send again" cards.

Posted on March 21, 2010, in Friends, General, Recovery, Weddings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

