My parents…my Palladium…

My parents have always been my palladium, one way or another. When I was younger, my mother & my father physically safeguarded me from the world.
Now that I am older, my mother & my father are still my PALLADIUM, just in an emotionally safeguarded way.

palladium \ puh-LEY-dee-uhm \ , noun;
1. anything believed to provide protection or safety; safeguard.
2. a statue of Athena, especially one on the citadel of Troy on which the safety of the city was supposed to depend.
3. a rare metallic element of the platinum group, silver-white, ductile and malleable, harder and fusing more readily than platinum; used chiefly as a catalyst and in dental and other alloys. Symbol: Pd; atomic weight: 106.4; atomic number: 46; specific gravity: 12 at 20°C.

Origin:
Palladium is related to the Greek word pallas meaning “little maiden.” The sense of a protective talisman comes from the name of a statue of Athena that guarded the city of Troy.

November, 1976

About JillCards, LLC

Handmade Personalized Unique Greeting Cards, featuring "Send again" cards.

Posted on April 15, 2012, in Word-of-the-Day and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Looks like a wonderful couple =) You must be lucky to have em.

    • They really are, but I’m their daughter, so I do believe that’s called “partial”. Anyways, this picture was taken in 1976, so it was quite some time ago. It’s been a year since the passing of my father, and nobody can prepare us for the weird emotional toll it takes when we must lose a parent.

Leave a Reply

